Rose Hip Oil for Skin

Hey there, how have you been my beautiful people? 🙂

Since I have been using Rose Hip Oil for a year and a half now, I’ve decided to share my knowledge of it for those who are wondering what it is and what it does to improve our skin.

rosehip-canvas-merged-use

In this post I am only going to talk about Certified Organic Rose Hip Oil/ Rose Hip Seed Oil and not any particular products that contain this ingredient.

What is Rose Hip Oil?

Rose Hip Oil or Rose Hip Seed Oil is basically a ‘pressed seed oil’, extracted from the seeds of the mature fruits of wild roses.

Rose Hip Oil is the natural source of: 

Vitamin A – tretinoin source (known for anti-ageing benefits)

Vitamin C – an anti-oxidant

Fatty acids (Omega 3 & 6) – anti-ageing ingredients

Benefits

Use Rose Hip Oil if you want to improve any issues below:

  • Skin suppleness
  • Uneven skin tone
  • Hyper-pigmentation
  • Fine lines and wrinkles
  • Blemishes
  • Acne scars
  • Dry Skin
  • Sun damage

Facts

  • I would have to say that any claims that says it is ‘non-greasy’ are false. Rose Hip Oil does absorbs very well, but keep in mind that any oil will give you the feeling of ‘using oil’ to some extent, which is completely different than when using a normal cream.
  • However, Rose Hip Oil, along with Argan Oil are still among the few natural oils that feel the least greasy.
  • Certified Organic Rose Hip Oil has a slightly yellow-ish/red-ish colour so when put on skin it will tend to make your skin appear darker/duller. (of course, this has nothing to do with the function of evening out your complexion)
  • A lightweight oil
  • Does not burn
  • For all skin types

How to use

Unlike some oils like Tea Tree Oil which are recommended to be used as a spot treatment, Rose Hip Oil is best used as an all-over moisturiser. This allows the oil to function well in evening out skin tone and hyper-pigmentation.

Normally, all you need to do is apply 2-3 drops of the oil onto your slightly damp face following your cleansing and toning routine, and you should wake up with softer skin the next day. Some people might apply another moisturiser on top of the oil layer for extra moisturising benefit. However, I do reckon it is sometimes not necessary because the oil is already very moisturising.

I would recommend anyone to only use it at night before going to bed as, like I said, your skin does appear a bit darker after using Rose Hip Oil. Also, your make-up slides off easier having oil underneath as a base.

For people with oily skin, and your skin oils up easily, make sure to put on the oil when your skin is clean and slightly damp for easy absorption and also avoid using the oil on hot days.

rosehip-oil-doesnt-work

Some recommended brands

I myself use the Sukin Certified Organic Rose Hip Oil and this is the only brand I have been using. So I would definitely say this one works.

And there are also some better brands out there suggested for you to choose from. There is this Top 10 Rose Hip Oils which I found very helpful, just to maybe narrow down your search.

Okay, that’s it for today’s post. I hope those were somehow helpful. Correct me if I’m wrong anywhere.

And have a great day loves! xo

Kim

Leave a comment